Travel Brooch

Travel Brooch

I do love to travel, so when I found this little pressed brass plane in a second hand shop, I knew I’d have to make it into something travel related. I toyed with a bracelet then decided to tackle something I’d been putting off for ages, a brooch.

I love brooches and wear them a lot, but I’d never tackled a brooch pin, so it was a challenge. The back of the brooch is sterling silver, with a double steel pin. The lovely blue globe stamp is riveted to the front using tiny silver rivets, soldered to the silver plate. I also used glue, just to make sure, and varnished the stamp three times to protect it from water. The plane is attached to the front using four simple silver posts.

It’s not perfect. I’m particularly annoyed that I didn’t clean my fingers properly when I was glueing the stamp, so it’s grubby. But the pin on the back turned out very well and it hangs nicely, which is pleasing. I’ve found a new source of planes and I’ve got loads of stamps, so I’m going to try again soon.

The next one will be perfect.

7 comments
  1. Ruth said:

    I have never seen a clean stamp. Not least of all one that’s been through the mail. I therefore declare this perfect. It’s super cool.

    • Victoria said:

      You are most kind. I’m still going to make the next one shinier and cleaner though…

      • Ruth said:

        My Mum used to call me Grubby Paws as a child. So be sure not to let me anywhere near a work in progress.

  2. You are a genius. Another one I am totally in love with.

    • Victoria said:

      Aw shucks!

    • Victoria said:

      Thank you 🙂

Leave a Reply

