Want to learn to make one of these?

photo-12

I made this for myself, back when I was just starting out on this making jewellery lark, and I love it.  It’s very simple, just three sterling silver tags, rounded edges, stamped with my children’s names in two millimetre high capital letters.  I wear it most days and I’m happy to say that I’ve made a few for other people now.

Someone asked me the other day if I’d teach them how to make their own name tag necklace, they wanted to have their own, but also wanted to learn some new skills and for it to be extra special, because they’d had a hand in it.  So this is what I came up with…

Silver tag necklace workshop

Would you like to learn some traditional silversmithing skills and make your own lovely personalised name tag necklace?

I will teach you how to:

  • cut your silver tags using a piercing saw
  • drill holes with a handheld bow drill
  • file and sand your tags to make them smooth
  • stamp names using metal letter punches

You’ll come away with the satisfaction of having made a beautiful piece of jewellery for yourself, or a brilliant present for someone else.

The workshop will last for three and a half hours, including a break for coffee and homemade cake.  Cost £90 including a ready made sterling silver snake chain and all materials.  Dates to be confirmed and it would be in London.

Interested?

Leave a Reply

