On being 40

I like being 40, it’s concentrated the mind.  I am no longer young.  Rather than wailing and gnashing my teeth about this fact, it’s made me realise that I’d better hurry up and do some of the things I’ve meant to do for ever.

I’ve never had a hankering for leaping off buildings or experimenting with drugs.  Instead my year has been filled with quietly pleasing activities like learning to sail a dinghy, inspired by a childhood love of Swallows and Amazons, and starting a new jewellery business, something I’d never have imagined doing a few years ago.

In the last year, I have discovered that I love opera, become a dog owner, learnt to knit, rediscovered an appreciation for Shakespeare having finally set foot inside the Globe after years of walking past, taken up running, been bowling, had a drawing lesson, seen and wept at Warhorse and revelled in the Olympics.  Who knew I’d love watching live sport so much?

I think underpinning all of this is the fact that I am different.  I’ve made it through the baby years and out the other side.  I now get to sleep through the night and have free hours when they’re at school.  But it’s more than that.  I’m not so nervous of life, unwilling to push myself forward, worried about what other people think.  Life seems less like a struggle and more like something to be enjoyed.  We don’t have long on this earth, we might as well make the most of it.

9 comments
  1. I’m nearly 50 & one of my kids is a sixth former. I have friends who are grandparents. It’s scary how time speeds up as you get older. Make the most of every minute.

  2. Love it 🙂 I’m finding that the older I’m getting the happier I am. Sometimes I think ‘I wish I’d done x earlier!’ but it’s good to know that it’s never too late to start something new, we have many years left!!

  3. Yup–want some more good news? It gets better and better as long as you are conscious of the choices you make and try to make the best ones. They add up. Maybe it’s because, statistically, the good choices create something better and maybe it’s just that life is just plain good if you let it…and have a bit of luck. Either way! Sure, it’s not all smooth and sometimes the correct response is not a ‘happy’ one but those times … you learn from them or, at least, grow stronger.

  4. Hmmm I remember 40. I wasn’t as together as you seem to be at that age. 50 has been my turning point. I feel like I could do just about anything! Not because time is running out but just because..well Why the hell not?
    Enjoy your time, young whippersnapper! 😉
    Love your blog to pieces!
    K x

    • Victoria said:

      I seem to be at a good place in my life. I hope I stay that way!

  5. Heather said:

    Love this post. I hope I feel this way when I’m 40..

    • Victoria said:

      Thanks lovely

Leave a Reply

