The burning house

What would you save if your house was on fire?  It goes without question that the children and the husband would be out first, followed swiftly by the dog.  But if you had time to gather some belongings, what would they be?

The children’s favourite toys, the ones they sleep with, often smelly and greying, but loved with a fierce devotion, would have to come.

My Diamond Jubilee teacup, bought with some money my aunt gave me with the instruction to “buy something nice”.  It’s a bit bling, but it’s very lovely.

My wedding ring.  I made it myself out of white gold, made the husband’s too.  I used to have really tiny fingers, but since having babies no longer.  The ring needs resizing, but until I get round to it, it’s in my bedside drawer.  That definitely has to come.

Family photos.  These are mostly old and irreplaceable.  Photos of grandparents, great grandparents and great great grandparents.

My photos, the photos I’ve taken.  I have boxes of slides and prints from the olden days and a hard drive full of digital pictures.

Travel souvenirs from last year’s round world trip and other trips.  The picture is of my rather beautiful Kiwi Christmas present.  I have a similarly lovely birthday one from Sydney.

Pepper the dog.  Couldn’t leave her.

My iPhone.

There’s probably other stuff too, favourite books, childhood teddies, MacBook and cables, my bed, but it’s just stuff isn’t it?  None of it is really important.  Love is all you really need.  Besides, it would be quite hard to get the bed down the stairs.

__________________________________________________________________________________________

I got the idea from this post after reading The Burning House, an absolutely fascinating website.  I have of course contributed.

It’s awards season again.  I won’t win an Oscar, but I could win a Brilliance in Blogging Award (I’ve been shortlisted in category seven, Go!, if you fancied voting to get me into the final, I’d be everso grateful).  And if you enjoyed voting for that award (come on, you know you did) then please could you also nominate me for a MAD award.  You’re a diamond.

6 comments
  1. jake barton said:

    I’m in shock at your list. Imagine being your husband and rated only just behind the children in list of ‘things’ to save. He’s a lucky man, indeed. I just know I’d be somewhere way behind the dog and probably the favourite shoes! I also mourn the passing of your ‘tiny fingers.’ What sacrifices you poor women make in childbirth! The transformation from delicate fingers to what I assume now resemble sausages is just one more example.
    This has been one of my favourite blogs and I’m happy to add my voice to the clamour when awards are in the offing. Consider it done. With my self-evident celebrity vote behind you, all things are possible!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      We all know that the dog would actually be saved first, but he might read this, so…

  2. Love this post, and I had a look at the Burning House website – very addictive.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      It is, isn’t it? I keep going back to look.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      Do you own post, I’d love to know what you’d save!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,219 other followers

