Rainbow cake

Cake blogging.  It was only a matter of time.

This week I have been a parent ten years.  To celebrate, I undertook a mammoth baking task, to make a rainbow cake.  If you fancy making one yourself, here’s how.

First set aside an entire day, it will take that long.  Then switch on Radio 4 and listen to a programme about the Bronte sisters’ piano, or similar, it’ll make the endless washing up a lot more enjoyable.

I treated it like a scientific experiment.  I weighed my mixing bowl first.  Then I made a mixture using seven eggs.  I think it would have been better using more mixture, I was just wary of making enough cake to eat for three years.  As it is, we’re still ploughing our way through it days later.  I weighed the eggs, then used equal quantities of sugar, butter and self raising flour and a splash of milk.  I then weighed the mixture in the bowl and therefore worked out the total weight of the cake mixture.  I divided this by seven and rounded down to allow for spoon licking.  So each of my layers contained 230 grams of mixture.

I have two 19cm cake tins, so I had a kind of cake relay in operation.  I’d weight out 230 grams of mixture into a small bowl, add paste food colouring, which is much stronger than the liquid stuff and colours very satisfyingly, then put it in the oven whilst washing up the tin and bowl from the previous colour.  Make sure you spread the mixture out carefully, my cakes weren’t quite flat enough. I made the cakes in colour order, because I’m anal like that.  Richard Of York Gave Battle In Vain.

So that’s it really.  I wasn’t difficult, it just took AGES.  What do you think?

__________________________________________________________________________________________

This post is part of The Gallery at Sticky Fingers.  This week’s prompt is ‘colour’.

31 comments
  1. Ooh, this is what I’m planning to do for the Minx’s birthday next month. I’m trying to decide if I prefer the layers like this – extra butter icing, or if I want to put all the colours in in layers in the tin – I saw that last night and was impressed by the effect. But then yours sways me back again so now I’m stuck! How much paste do you think you need for a good, vivid colour?

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      A decent blob on the end of a chopstick, very scientific!

  2. That is blooming amazing. I bow down to your superior cake making skills

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      Thank you x

  3. lplatemummy said:

    Looks amazing. I am a total dunce in the kitchen so don’t think I’ll be attempting this… wish I could bake!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      It’s just following instructions, it’s not like other cooking.

  4. It looks very impressive, but I seriously doubt that my sanity (or selection of cake tins) could last the pace. Kudos for perseverance!!!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      I only have two cake tins!

  5. motherscuffer said:

    It looks stunning, well done!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      Thank you!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      Yes, pretty good, a standard Victoria sponge. It looked like it should have been all different flavours!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      It was easy, you should try!

  6. That’s an amazing cake. My aunt once made me a Dennis the Menace cake which was red and black inside. It was a great idea but she made it in the microwave and it tasted awful!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      Not sure I like the sound of microwave cake!

  7. I want some! Gorgeous looking and I bet it tasted just as awesome 🙂

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      TBH, once I’d finished making it, I was sick of the sight of cake!

  8. Wow, that’s SOME cake! I’ve seen these before but don’t think I could handle actually making one. Saying that I’m slowly getting more adventurous so maybe one day!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      It was easy, I promise!

  9. Wow! That is fantastic I would live to do that, but I don’t think I would have the patience. Brilliant!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      It was a good thing I didn’t have anything else to do that day!

  10. Immense! That must have taken hours and hours and hours! Question is – did it take long to eat?

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      We’ve still not finished it!

  11. Flippin’ brilliant. I definitely want to try this. But, of course, I have some questions:
    Where did you buy all the paste food colouring?
    Did you use a food mixer to get the colour even for each cake layer?
    How long did you cook each layer for? (Really, I am rubbish at baking so I’m looking for all the help and advice I can get!)
    What did you use to stick the layers together? Butter icing?
    Is is butter icing spread over the cake? How do you make that, then?
    I was honest about how bad I am in the kitchen!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      I have answered via the medium of twitter!

  12. Wow – Amazing cake! and amazing dedication taken to bake it….and after 10 years of Mummy-hood – thats no mean feat….my cake baking for birthdays etc stopped when my boys turned 5 and 6 and I slaved over a domino cake for their joint party..I thought it was cool for boys to have a black domino cake with the 5 and 6 spots on either side, but they thought not – Since then I have bought them one!!!! I must be lazy 🙂

Leave a Reply

