Dickens’ London

Dickens was an insomniac.  By night, he pounded the pavements of London, walking his characters into being as the rest of the city slept.  He and his stories are as much a part of London as red buses and Big Ben.

In this anniversary year, I want to get to know him better.  I’d like to say I’m going to read all his books, but we know that’s a lie.  As well as reading the odd bit, I am going to re-watch my favourite BBC adaptations, and enjoy the atmospheric sets and fabulous costumes.  I’ve already visited the fantastic exhibition at the Museum of London, which maps out the big themes of Dickens’ stories and life and how they intersect with the city: home and hearth, progress, childhood and death. I’d like to go back with the nine year old, who has already been captivated by his magical stories.

But my biggest project will be to follow in his footsteps.  I want to see the city, our city, how he saw it, by walking the streets, visiting the places he visited, finding the places he wrote about.  I shall take photos, drink coffee and imagine his characters into being.  Want to join me?

10 comments
  1. I am so looking forward to this, I have a set of dickens books in the garage I was given as a child. I should dig them our really

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      You definitely should!

  2. I would love to! Mine’s a Latte and a muffin please! Looking forward to reading about your literary literal adventures :O) (If that makes sense, which it probably doesn’t…)

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      It does make sense *budges up on bus seat*

  3. Looking forward to it: I’ve never read Dickens 🙂

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      They’re real page turners, give them a go!

  4. Ooh that sandwich bar looks like the one Sherlock lives above in the modern adaptation. Okay, wrong writer…

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      Cities are built up in layers, I’m sure there’s a link between AC-D and Dickens.

  5. When I married my husband he was a curate in a tough inner city estate in Somers Town and after I’d recovered from the brothels and the crime rate it took on a whole new glamour when I realised Dickens had leaved near by and set some of Our Mutual Friend (I think) amid the dust piles that use to mound there. Don’t miss it, therefore, or the graveyard of Old St Pancras, our sister church, where he also set a scene.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      Ooh, I didn’t know that, I shall definitely add Somers Town to my list…

Leave a Reply

