Please…

This is her pleading face.  Please feed me.  Please love me.  Please take me with you.  She’s sitting by the front door as I get ready to leave.  That particular day I wasn’t taking her, and she knew it.  I’m probably anthropomorphising, but I think she looks sad.  It’s the eyes.  I was a little bit sad too.  I was only picking the children up from school, or going to the post office, but I like taking her out.  Her verve for life and ability to find pleasure in the smallest things, a biscuit crumb, a squirrel to chase, a puddle to swim in, make taking her outside a pleasure.

Our regular walks have become a highlight of my of my days.  Crunching frosty grass, splodging along muddy tracks, receiving a sleety facial, it’s all good when accompanied by a lolloping hound.  If it wasn’t for her, I wouldn’t venture outside in driving rain and howling wind, but I’ve no doubt that a brisk stomp on a daily basis is doing me a lot of good.  And seeing her grinning face as she bounds up to me with a stolen tennis ball in her mouth, makes me happy.  They should give out dogs on the NHS.

__________________________________________________________________________________________

This post is for the Gallery at Sticky Fingers, whose theme this week is ‘Eyes’.

16 comments
  1. When I first looked, I did a double take as she kind of looked like a dear head mounted on the wall!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      I like playing with perspective!

  2. Kelly said:

    I know it is not exactly the point but I love your tiles. Dog is quite cute too!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      They are lovely, a bit grubby now, and unfortunately the dirt is too deep to clean, but they’re one of the many original features in our house that I like.

  3. I think you are very cruel hanging your dog’s head on the wall like that, those eyes are begging for mercy. Tiles are lovely though.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      It’s the new stag’s head. All the rage.

  4. She does look very sad, bless her! A great picture though and a bit different to the ones I’ve seen so far!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      Thank you!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      She’s spoilt rotten!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      Thanks!

  5. Now there are two eyes you cannot refuse ever! Adorable dog, makes me miss mine even more

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      Aw, dogs have that affect on you, don’t they?

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      Nope!

Leave a Reply

