I love London

As a certain Dorothy once said, “There’s no place like home!”  I spent the best part of last year travelling the world, from Hawaii, to New Zealand and Australia to Japan.  I saw some truly astounding sights and stayed in some beautiful places, but never once did I consider not returning home.  I’ve lived in London all of my life, and couldn’t imagine living anywhere else.

Partly this is because I have set down roots.  I have friends and family here, I have a lovely house in a mostly riot-free neighbourhood, I am settled.  Yes, it’s noisy and crowded, as are all large cities, but it’s also full of verve and endless possibilities.

But it’s not just that.

I’m pretty sure that cities are living breathing creatures, as much about their inhabitants as their buildings.  That everyone who ever lived in a place becomes part of it’s very fabric.  That if you listen very carefully, every street echoes with the footsteps of all the people who have ever walked down it.  I am a rational, logical sort of person, but when I walk through the dank, cobbled, back streets of Southwark on a frosty night, it’s hard not to believe in the existence of ghosts.

So if everyone who ever lived here has become part of the soul of the city, that means I am part of it too, and it is part of me.

 

14 comments
  1. There is a rush of emotion I get when crossing the Thames on Westminster or Waterloo bridges that never fails to overcome me. Even now I don’t live in London itself, I will always consider myself a Londoner.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      Those bridge views are lovely. I always feel like I’m in a film.

  2. I always rather regret not having lived in London. I love visiting just to breathe in a bit of that verve (and I like knowing that you are there!)

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      Well obviously 😉

  3. There is no place like home. I don’t get to London much but there is a magical feeling when I’m there and it compels me to want to stay longer. I still want to return home though. 🙂

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      You can’t beat home.

  4. Now that’s how I feel about the north. Beautifully put.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      Maybe I just described home.

  5. I popped by to massage your stats and found myself in eager agreement. It’s extraordinary to contemplate a building and know that five centuries of eyes have gazed upon it too. that’s why I so love the Shardlake novels because through them you can see, smell, almost taste a Tudor city which still partially survives in place names and landmarks.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      I know exactly what you mean. I’ve not heard of those books, shall have to investigate.

  6. I sometimes wish I had lived in London and love visiting with the boys. I want to know the underneath of London, the bit that the locals get and us tourists don’t

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      You’ve come to the right place!

  7. Kelly said:

    I can’t get my head around the geography of London, because I have never spent enough time there. I wish that I had the time to spend a week just walking and exploring and seeing what I can find. One day perhaps but for now I am more than happy to read your words about it, they are as eloquent as usual.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      It’s like any big city, it sprawls and can be very confusing if you’re not sure what is where.

Leave a Reply

