All change please

New Year's Eve

Travel changes you. Or so people say.  I’m not sure that’s necessarily true.  I don’t really think that travel has the power to change you any more than staying at home and listening to the radio would.

But travel, particularly the kind that we did, slowly and over a long period, gives you lots of time to think.  Add in an impending fortieth birthday and a sparkly new year, and you’ve got a recipe for some clean sweeping.

So while I can’t claim to be spiritually enlightened, I have made a few changes.  Since we got home from our nine month journey, I’ve taken up running and knitting, become a dog owner and started to write a book.  Before I move on to world peace, I thought I’d better get started on a new blog.  So here we are, I hope you like it.

__________________________________________________________________________________________

This post is part of The Gallery at Sticky Fingers. The theme this week is Phone Pictures. The photo of my youngest child holding a sparkler is an Instagram job and the masthead was taken using Hipstamatic. 

38 comments
  1. *Applauds Wildly* Looking forward to sitting down with a nice cup of tea and a biscuit and a bit of Wallop.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      Does that mean I have to write more posts?

  2. Molly said:

    Nine months! A book! A surname like Wallop!
    I have envy.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      I shouldn’t get too envious of the book, it’s not finished yet…

  3. Hello! Nice to meet you. I love travel too, adore it in fact, although I’ve not managed to get anywhere remotely exotic for about 10 years now. Looking forward to your updates. I love writing, but am crap at photographs, I’m also a quarter of a way through writing a very amateur book. Sounds like you have similar interests and I’ll keep an eye out for your tweets :O) All the best @Chaoskay

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      Hi! Nice to meet you too 🙂

  4. Lovely to see you back on the wagon. I miss all your holiday stuff

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      It IS nice to be blogging again.

  5. Jacq said:

    Oh fabulous. I’ve missed your travel blog a lot.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      Thank you, I’ve missed blogging too.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      Thank you 🙂

  6. Hi, thanks for adding your link to my facebook request. I have subscribed so I can keep up to date with posts and hopefully feature you on Britmums Newbie Tuesday 🙂

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      Ooh that would be fab if you could!

  7. Jen said:

    Looking forward to reading your fresh new adventures 🙂 xx

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      Thank you, I’m looking forward to writing again.

  8. achan said:

    I love the concentration on their face it’s if they are lost in the magic of that sparkler!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      I think he was trying to avoid burning his fingers!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      I’m afraid the 5yo has swiped them all…

  9. Hello! Congrats on the knitting, the dog and plans to change the world – for those I must come back. Gorgeous picture and I bet that book is going to be fascinating

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      Yes, I’ll let you know when I’ve changed the world, it may take a while…

  10. Brilliant sparkly picture! I look forward to seeing more of your blog.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      Thank you!

  11. A really fab picture. I love how it looks like the sparkler is lighting the whole photo!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      It really was!

  12. Kat said:

    What a great picture – love it! Such an expression of concentration too :o)

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      He was trying to not burn himself!

  13. beautiful photo – welcome back to the blogging world, I bet you have missed it.

    Looking forward to reading more.

    x

    • Yes, I have missed it. Looking forward to writing more frequently.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      Concentration!

  14. Tara said:

    HOORAH, I’m in. Spent last night being told my name wasn’t on the list and I wasn’t’ allowed into your comments section. But now I’m in I’m in I’m in. *does a dance*
    That’s it. I have nothing else to say.
    Oh, hang on, I do.
    Cracking photo. And I love that you have a new blog. And I’m allowed on it now.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      Thank you very much for persevering *passes celebratory cup of tea*

  15. I’m late to the party as usual, but better late than never, right? So glad to see you back. At the risk of gushing, your blog has also been a big inspiration to me, and I’m looking forward to following the next chapter in your blogging life.

Leave a Reply

