Rubbish


I just don’t get it.

I get being disaffected.  If I lived there I’d be disaffected.  It’s one of Britain’s poorest regions, devastated by the collapse of manufacturing in the eighties and it’s never recovered.  Huge swathes of wasteland, boarded up houses, pubs you wouldn’t enter if you value your face: living there can’t be a barrel of laughs.

But I still don’t get it.  Why, do you destroy what’s good?  When you are provided with a decent playground in a pretty little park, why do you trash it?  Maybe you’re too old to actually use the play equipment, to feel the joy of spinning until you’re too dizzy to walk, but why ruin it for others?  Are you really so selfish?  Do you not have the ability to care about the people around you, to be empathetic?

For me, a lovely park is a good thing.  A reason to smile.  I’m sad that you don’t feel the same.

3 comments
  1. I am so with you on this. I hate the fact that certain elements in society feel like they need to spoil it for the rest. I live in a deprived area too, but it doesn’t give people the right to be so selfish. This is one of the reasons I am so proud of my SIL, as she saw that the youth on the estate they have the club on were disaffected and had started to vandalise the club and around it, so she started a youth group at the club. She gave them some ownership of the club and told them in no uncertain terms that they treated it and the people surrounding it with respect and so far it has worked.

    The world needs more of my SIL

  2. The sheer variety of potential reasons for this kind of behaviour is depressing in itself. One of which is surely not having been lucky enough to enjoy such places with your family when you were that age and therefore seeing no value in maintaining it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,299 other followers

