A protest

I’m cross.  Positively ranty actually.

I’m insanely excited about the Olympics.  It sort of ties in with my excitement about the Jubilee.  Jubilympics if you will*.  But today I’m angry.

Did you know that we are not allowed to use the word Olympics or the numbers 2012 without infringing somebody’s regulations?  That means we can be asked to unsay it, or even prosecuted.  How can it be not allowed to say the name of the year THAT WE ARE ACTUALLY LIVING IN?

Not only can you not use the word Olympics, but you can’t use any variation of it.  At all, even if you’re being nice and trying to help promote good things.   Even if it’s entirely coincidental that you’ve used it.

The Olympic Cafe in East London has been forced to change it’s name, despite being called that for years and years.  A butcher who made a display of sausages in his window in the shape of the Olympic rings was asked to take them down.  Who makes this shit up?

I’ve worked in marketing, I know all about brand integrity.  But sausages?  Seriously?  What kind of 1984 state are we living in?

One that pretends that world class athletes eat McDonalds crap and still win races, clearly.

How much time, effort and money is going into policing this?  And don’t they have anything better to do, like work out if they’ve got enough loos for the athletes?

OLYMPICS OLYMPICS 2012 OLYMPICS OLYMPICS 2012 OLYMPICS OLYMPICS OLYMPICS

Sorry about the shouting, I feel a bit better now.

__________________________________________________________________________________________

*this excellent term was not coined by myself but by the writers of the brilliantly hilarious Twenty Twelve.  So called because they couldn’t use 2012.

If you want to know more about this, you could do a lot worse than listen to this excellent radio programme, as recommended to me by the estimable Emily.

19 comments
  1. Oh I think I have a special form of tourettes! OLYMPICS OLYMPICS 2012 OLYMPICS OLYMPICS 2012 OLYMPICS OLYMPICS OLYMPICS OLYMPICS OOLYMPICS OLYMPICS 2012 OLYMPICS OLYMPICS 2012 OLYMPICS OLYMPICS OLYMPICS LYMPICS 2012 OLYMPICS OLYMPICS 2012 OLYMPICS OLYMPICS OLYMPICS OLYMPICS OLYMPICS 2012 OLYMPICS OLYMPICS 2012 OLYMPICS OLYMPICS OLYMPICS OLYMPICS OOLYMPICS OLYMPICS 2012 OLYMPICS OLYMPICS 2012 OLYMPICS OLYMPICS OLYMPICS LYMPICS 2012 OLYMPICS OLYMPICS 2012 OLYMPICS OLYMPICS OLYMPICS

    • Victoria said:

      That’s how I feel!

  2. I went to an official Olympics blog event. When the sandwiches and cakes arrived we all got our cameras out (as you do) and we were told we couldn’t publish pictures of food other than from the official food sponsor (McDonalds). It then took three weeks for photos we could use to be approved. I’m really excited about the Jubilympics too, but this is crazy.
    OLYMPICS 2012 ETC.

    • Victoria said:

      That is just the most ridiculous thing I’ve ever heard! Apart from the sausages obvs.

  3. I thought this was a joke when I first heard about it. It’s outrageous beyond outrageous. I’ve just written 2012 on an invoice, will I be prosecuted? I thought about the Olympics earlier will the thought police be after me? Madness. Not in the spirit of it AT ALL.

    • Victoria said:

      It’s OK if you write it in editorial, but not in titles or as a twitter name for instance. But it’s utterly bonkers.

    • Victoria said:

      It’s just mad isn’t it?

  4. tigermum said:

    I love the Olympics. Love love love it. But Seb Coe and his ridiculous cronies are just ruining it and taking all the fun out of it. Why shouldn’t people in this country benefit from having the Olympics here by using it to promote their businesses? I thought that was the point, that we were meant to celebrate it. It stinks as much as the ticket fiasco. I write about past Olympic moments on my blog. I’ve even made Olympic torches for the same blog. Will I be in trouble now? I really really despise that ‘Lord’. Grrrrrrrrrrrr.

    • Victoria said:

      To be fair to Seb, I don’t think it’s all his fault. I think a lot of it lies with the IOC who are terrified of losing sponsors.

  5. How ridiculous! How can they veto people using the term 2012 for crissakes? And the Olympics? I’ve been teaching a lesson this week about the Olympics, do I now have to tear the sheets out of the children’s books and shred them? The world has gone mad.

    • Victoria said:

      You’re allowed to use the words in editorial, but not titles. Did you run their text books by the IOC first?

  6. adventuresofanenglishmum said:

    Absolutely and completely ridiculous!! I recently did some work for a very large department store and when they showed me the range of Olympic stuff that they are carrying but told me that I couldn’t photograph any of it or write about any of the products as it has to be run past the Olympic team first!! Every press release the store writes about it also has to be approved!! I’ve also heard on the grapevine that they will try and police all the images that spectators put on social media…….obviously far too much time on their hands!!! Well done on this post!

    • Victoria said:

      Thank you, it’s the policing that gets me too. So much time and money wasted.

  7. Muddling Along said:

    This is utterly ridiculous – surely the whole thing about the Olympics is that it is supposed to be about higher things than just making pots of money? What about sport, excellence, endeavour?

    As Jen said olympics 2012, olympics 2012, olympics 2012, olympics 2012, olympics 2012, olympics 2012, olympics 2012, olympics 2012, olympics 2012, olympics 2012, olympics 2012, olympics 2012, olympics 2012, olympics 2012, olympics 2012, olympics 2012, olympics 2012, olympics 2012, olympics 2012, olympics 2012, olympics 2012, olympics 2012, olympics 2012, olympics 2012, olympics 2012, olympics 2012, olympics 2012, olympics 2012, olympics 2012, olympics 2012, olympics 2012, olympics 2012, olympics 2012, olympics 2012, olympics 2012, olympics 2012, olympics 2012!

    Ha! That feels better

    • Victoria said:

      EXACTLY!

  8. But of course – the Olympics as an organisation has been selling out for decades, while its management is historically corrupt.

    • Victoria said:

      I know that’s true, but you always hope for better don’t you?

  9. Heather said:

    I love a ranting Wallop. I shall join in the chant: Olympics 2012Olympics 2012Olympics 2012Olympics 2012Olympics 2012Olympics 2012Olympics 2012Olympics 2012Olympics 2012Olympics 2012Olympics 2012Olympics 2012Olympics 2012Olympics 2012Olympics 2012Olympics 2012Olympics 2012Olympics 2012Olympics 2012Olympics 2012Olympics 2012Olympics 2012Olympics 2012Olympics 2012Olympics 2012Olympics 2012Olympics 2012Olympics 2012Olympics 2012Olympics 2012Olympics 2012Olympics 2012Olympics 2012Olympics 2012Olympics 2012Olympics 2012Olympics 2012

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,299 other followers

