Little darlings

They’re asleep.  Finally.  After great quantities of thrashing and moaning and he’s kicking mes in the humid, cramped room.  The husband and I lay quietly on single mattresses, which covered all of the remaining floor space.  We pretended to sleep, as Thai pop music blared from speakers in the open air restaurant on the other side of the river and motorbikes revved over the bridge.

Getting them to sleep while we were travelling was rarely easy.  It was often the bane of my life.  Rooms where all three had to share a double bed were by far the worst.  In one awful hotel in Malaysia we bought a thin foam camping mat for the youngest to put on the hard tiled floor.  He tossed and turned uncomfortably on it, and I felt guilty, but it was preferable to the alternative.  At least there weren’t any cockroaches.

Looking at that photo now doesn’t give me a feeling of peace, an ah aren’t they so cute moment.  It makes me feel slightly sick and anxious, as the memories of mozzie bites and grubby sheets and perpetual tiredness flood back.  Travelling was wonderful in many ways, but we missed our own beds.

_________________________________________________________________________________________

The prompt for this week’s Gallery is ‘at peace’.

16 comments
  1. Oh look at them all scrumpled, they look like they have just given up completely and accepted the inevitable.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      Yes, probably because they had!

  2. Wow, its like Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, with the grandparents bed!!!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      Yes! Hadn’t thought of that. We love Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.

  3. omgoodness! they do look at peace but i’m itching and swatting away the mozzies just thinking about it!
    i always think that children sharing beds is cute, but invariable reality is something altogether different

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      Definitely different!

  4. As you know we are struggling in a caravan with beds for all, so I feel your pain. This week has brought back that anxious feeling in my tummy from when Mini wouldn’t go to sleep.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      At least it’s only for a few days. It’ll be fine once you get home :)

  5. It’s one of the things that I remember most about your trip, possibly because I would catch you on twitter at odd times for moral support. Very difficult I should imagine, especially when you don’t get that “ash, they’re asleep” relief thing because you are laying silently so as no to wake them.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      You were most supportive. There was also no relief because it sort of started all over again each time we arrived somewhere new.

  6. plus2point4 said:

    Awww bless them! Do you think you’d go around the world again?

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      Not such a long trip again, no, but I’d love to go back to some of the places we visited.

  7. Tara said:

    That photo is just wonderful. It’s the sort of thing you’ll look back on in years to come and it will evoke really strong memories. Love love love it

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily said:

      Hopefully I’ll look more fondly on it sometime soon.

  8. Lovely photo, and I can relate completely to what you wrote – It’s a kind of perturbed peace I guess :-)

  9. Love this post. Both for the photo and the fact I can live vicariously through you. Wish I had the guts to take my toddler travelling on adventures to exotic places. I found it (amazing and wonderful but) hard enough when I only had to worry about myself and lugging my backpack across India. Don’t know if I could do it with a bub in tow…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,300 other followers

